Monday, March 24, 2008

Free EPA Webcast on "Monitoring Watershed Program Effectiveness"

EPA's Watershed Academy presents a free Webcast on "Monitoring Watershed Program Effectiveness" Thurs.,April 10th Webcast
Eastern: 2:00p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Central: 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Mountain: 12:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Pacific: 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

A Watershed Academy Webcast:
There is increasing emphasis on evaluating the results of our efforts to control nonpoint source pollution on a watershed basis. Evaluation must be an ongoing part of any watershed management, based on proper design and data collection. Three types of data are needed to evaluate watershed management projects: administrative, social and environmental. Evaluation or effectiveness monitoring is designed to measure the actual impact of management decisions, such as implementation of nutrient management practices (administrative, social) and resulting impacts of nutrient levels (environmental) in the waterbody. Environmental monitoring needs to focus on specific variables, take place in specific locations, and at minimum frequencies to provide a measure of whether and to what extent the water quality problems are being addressed.
Instructors will present an overview of watershed monitoring, three
watershed effectiveness monitoring designs, and identify issues to be considered when developing effectiveness monitoring programs.

The Watershed Academy is a focal point in EPA's Office of Water for providing training and information on implementing watershed approaches. The Academy sponsors live classroom training and online distance learning modules through the Watershed Academy Web at
www.epa.gov/watertrain. For more information, visit
www.epa.gov/watershedacademy.

Registration for this Webcast opens April 3, 2008. You must register in advance to participate in the Webcast. To register, visit
www.clu-in.org/live. The Webcast will be a Web-based slide presentation with a companion audio portion. There are two options for accessing the audio portion of the Webcast: by phone OR by streaming audio broadcast
(not both). Upon registrarion you will receive complete participation instructions. Because of the
limited number of spaces, EPA strongly encourage you to reserve a conference room and invite your colleagues and other partners to
participate.

After the Webcast is over, an audio version of the Webcast will be available - visit www.epa.gov/watershedwebcasts

for more information.

Source: Anne Weinberg, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Communications Coordinator
Assessment and Watershed Protection Division

No comments:

Post a Comment